It’s So Quiet…

I walked into my EDC3100 tutorial today, ready to discuss and learn. I was keen to talk about my assignment, and get some ideas and opinions from Dave, and my fellow students. But what I found was quite perplexing….

There were only 5 people…. including Dave.

I don’t understand… I mean I consider myself an introvert, and on some days I really struggle to get out of bed, but as soon as I am in a tutorial and we have some good discussion going on, I forget all about my soft pillow, and my warm blankets.

Because that’s what tutorials are all about… they are about invigorating and critical discussion. They are the opportunity to ask questions, and help each other. So you can understand my disappointment when people decide to just stay home and stay online. As future teachers, I can’t understand why we don’t all make efforts to engage… I mean I know that’s my biggest fear… standing in front of a classroom, after having asked a question, and having no engagement. There’s no worse feeling – feeling like you’ve not taught them enough – like they don’t like you – like they don’t care about your lesson.

Now, I understand that ICT has a very good place in education, and this blog post by a fellow EDC3100 student outlines some extremely effective reasons for using ICT in education. And I too believe it is an important aspect in education, but I also believe that in some ways, it can be a bit of a cop-out. People will google an opinion, and that will become their own opinion. They research, but they don’t analyse the research, they just parrot it.

So I’m just left wondering, are some forms of ICT (e.g. recorded tutorials) ruining critical engagement during the learning process?

2 thoughts on “It’s So Quiet…

  1. Hi, your blog was a good read. I’ve been on campus and can understand your frustration! However due to work, children and life I have to study online usually late at night.

    I did one of my pracs at Distance Ed and had to engage 26 students into my lesson. I couldn’t see them (they could see me) and a lot didn’t use their microphones. The first few days, I felt like a failure. It came so easy to my mentor, so I had to try harder. By the end of my prac I had all students engaged and enjoying our lessons. So your last question about do some forms of ICT ruin critical engagement? Maybe to some extend but again for me, I just try harder. There are always solutions around the problem.

    I hope more on campus students attend your tutorials! I used to love those sessions.

    Like

    • Hey,
      Thanks for your comment 🙂
      I totally understand where you’re coming from, and agree that ICT makes study far more accessible for a wider range of people. I guess I’m just one of the lucky ones that have the time to attend the on-campus sessions.
      I think you’ve hit the nail on the head by saying there are solutions to every problem… I think sometimes people (myself included) enjoy the fact that they can blame technology for something not working, however I am trying to train myself to stop thinking that, and realise that the ICT is simply the tool, and I’m still the one utilising it.
      Oh wow! That would’ve been frustrating, but a truly educational experience at the distance ed school!

      Thanks again for your engagement 🙂 Good luck with the rest of the semester!

      Like

Leave a Reply

